robotindex robotindex — robots for humans

XPeng IRON

Under Review Humanoid & General Purpose · Two Legs
A humanoid robot from XPeng — the Chinese EV maker's robotics division, now operating as the subsidiary Dogotix — built on "bionic muscle" flexible actuators, a full-body synthetic skin, and a solid-state battery, sharing chips and AI models with XPeng's cars. It made headlines in November 2025 when XPeng's CEO cut open its outer shell live on stage to disprove viral claims it was a person in a suit. A pilot production line opened in September 2026, with mass production targeted by year-end and commercial deliveries in 2027 — no unit has been sold to a paying customer yet.
xpeng.com — Robotics →
XPeng IRON — XPeng two legs
Image: XPeng (official)
View on Manufacturer Site

Specs

Battery
Solid-stateclaimed industry-first for a humanoid; runtime not disclosed
Weight
70 kgunchanged between the 2024 original and the 2025 redesign
Height
178 cmunchanged between the 2024 original and the 2025 redesign
Compute
3× Turing chips2,250–3,000 TOPS cited inconsistently across XPeng's own materials
Degrees of Freedom
76–82 totalfigure varies between the Nov 2025 reveal and Sept 2026 production coverage
Actuators
"Bionic muscle"flexible actuators plus a full synthetic skin, not rigid joints alone
Hand Dexterity
21–22 DOF/handXPeng calls it the industry's smallest harmonic joint design
Walking Speed
Not disclosedno public figure found; a Feb 2026 public demo ended in a fall
Sale Model
Not yet soldpilot production line only; deliveries targeted 2027

Reference Price

No price has been announced for IRON; XPeng is targeting mass production by the end of 2026 and commercial deliveries in 2027, first to its own stores and campuses before wider release. No units have been sold, and the only named external partner is Baoshan Iron & Steel, which is field-testing it for industrial inspection.

Insights

Reported specs are inconsistent even across XPeng's own materials: total degrees of freedom have been cited as both 82 and 76, and onboard compute as both 2,250 and 3,000 TOPS. In February 2026, IRON fell during its first public demo at a Shenzhen shopping mall, after which XPeng pulled walking demonstrations in favor of a support frame.

Firmware & Community

Verified against XPeng's own press materials and product pages, CnEVPost, Electrek, PC Gamer, NotebookCheck, KrAsia, The Robot Report, SCMP, TechNode, Futurism, Gulf News, Parametric Architecture, Global Times, and the OECD.AI AI incidents database. Flagged as unresolved or conflicting: total degrees of freedom (82 vs. 76 across different XPeng disclosures), onboard compute (2,250 vs. 3,000 TOPS), whether a separately reported "fifth-generation" designation refers to the same November 2025 robot as "next-gen IRON," and walking speed/battery runtime, which XPeng has not publicly disclosed at all. This entry corrects the prior "First-Generation" label, which is not an XPeng designation and understates that the originally reviewed 2024 robot has already been superseded by a 2025 redesign now entering production.